Voting has begun for The LGF Homo Heroes Awards 2014

Publish Date: 29/07/2014

The Lesbian & Gay Foundation (The LGF) are pleased to announce that public voting for the Homo Heroes Awards 2014 is now open and the top three nominees for each category have been shortlisted.

Hundreds of people have taken the time to nominate their heroes – individuals, groups and organisations they feel have helped to make a difference to their communities over the past year.

The LGF’s Homo Heroes Awards, supported by Barclays, and now in its fourth year, provide an opportunity to celebrate those that have challenged homophobia and biphobia, are role models for the community and have helped make a difference to the lives of lesbian, gay and bisexual people.

Voting opens at 12 noon on Wednesday 30th July and closes on Wednesday 24th September 2014. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Tuesday 7 October 2014 to coincide with the 50th Anniversary of the Campaign for Homosexual Equality, which The LGF will be marking – further details to be released soon so keep an eye out on our website.

Here are the nominees for each category:

Community Champion of the Year

2014 champion anne power
Anne Power

2014 champion andy thompson
Andy Thompson

2014 champion vivien walsh
Vivien Walsh

>>> Read more and vote now at <<<

Business of the Year

2014 business co-op
The Co-operative

2014 business liverpool fc
Liverpool FC

2014 business serenity
Serenity Security Solutions

>>> Read more and vote now at <<<

Lesbian, Gay or Bisexual role model of the Year

2014 role model dave armstrong
Dave Armstrong

2014 role model lisa riley wheatcroft
Lisa Riley-Wheatcroft

2014 role model casey stoney
Casey Stoney

>>> Read more and vote now at <<<

Public Sector Partner of the Year

2014 psp north west ambulance service
North West Ambulance Service

2014 psp salford clinical commissioning group
Salford Clinical Commissioning Group

2014 psp department of health
Department of Health

>>> Read more and vote now at <<<

Volunteer of the Year

2014 volunteer jenny anne bishop
Jenny-Anne Bishop

2014 volunteer marcus morgan
Marcus Morgan

2014 volunteer kevin sargent
Kevin Sargent

>>> Read more and vote now at <<<

Community Group of the Year

2014 group canalsiders
Manchester Canalsiders ARLFC

2014 group manchester roller derby
Manchester Roller Derby

2014 group village bakers
Village Bakers

>>> Read more and vote now at <<<

LGB&T Venue of the Year

2014 venue molly house
The Molly House

2014 venue vanilla

2014 venue via

>>> Read more and vote now at <<<