The LGF Volunteer Awards 2014

Publish Date: 10/06/2014

The Lesbian & Gay Foundation’s (The LGF) annual Volunteer Awards ceremony was held during National Volunteer’s Week and celebrated the achievements of all our fabulous volunteers.

The awards are an opportunity to celebrate the amazing contributions made by our volunteers, every single day of the year. The sheer number of people involved in supporting our communities demonstrates that without them, we wouldn’t be able to provide our much needed services.

Every LGF volunteer has contributed towards an overall total of 8,000 volunteering hours this year. This makes an incredible difference to how many people we can reach with our services and campaigns. Here are The LGF Volunteer Award winners:

Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Lee Mackintosh

Runner-up: Toby Christopher

Newcomer of the Year

Winner: Alexa Santos

Runner-up: Andy Doe

Runner-up: Christopher Barton

Volunteer Team of the Year

Winner: The Village Angels (for the second year running)

Village Angels Volunteers include: Andy Doe, Christopher Barton, Chris Steenson, Gwyneth Fitzgerald, Gemma Broadbent, Ian Hodge, Brian Maher, Jakeb Braden, Toby Christopher, Elle Wiggins, Pollyanna Steiner, Bernadette Tyldesley, Amy Marshall, Carly Lyes, Joseph Andrea, Paul Robinson and all the shifts leads and staff who support the team.

Runner-up: Sexual Health Volunteers

Sexual Health volunteers include: Jakeb, Toby, Lee, Nigel, Alex, Sean and Pete.

Volunteer Supervisor of the Year

Winner: Shaun Lloyd, Community Engagement Officer

Runner-up: Kate Hardy, Wellbeing Officer

Runner-up: Stefanie Hartley, Community Safety Coordinator

Extra Mile Award

Winner: Jakeb Braden

Winner: Ruby Lily

Winner: Rosie Adamson-Clark

Winner: Sean Gordon

For more information on how you can get involved and volunteer for The LGF visit: