Stonewall’s Hero of the Year nominees announced

Publish Date: 09/09/2011

Gay rights charity Stonewall have today announced the nominees for their heroes and bigots of the year for their annual awards ceremony.

The LGF’s Chief Executive Paul Martin OBE has been nominated for Hero of the Year, alongside Roger Crouch, Lady Gaga, Betty Bourne and Joan Armatrading.

Paul said that he was both “delighted” and “touched” by the nomination, and added that he was “thrilled to be in such inspirational company”.

One of Paul’s fellow nominees, Roger Crouch, helped the LGF earlier in the year; urging people to support the Enough is Enough! Safer Schools Pack project.

Roger’s son Dominic, 15, tragically took his own life after rumours circulated at school that he was gay. Watch Roger’s video here.

The nominees for Stonewall’s bigot of the year are Stephen Green, Melanie Phillips, Rt Rev Arthur Roche, Brian Souter and Bill Walker MSP.

The awards, and the award for Stonewall Community Group are voted for by Stonewall members.

The other seven awards – including Writer and Entertainer of the Year – will be chosen by a panel of judges including England women’s national football team coach - Hope Powell, John Partridge, Gok Wan, TV producer Maureen Chadwick and Eddie Mair.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on November 3rd. For more info visit: