Homo Heroes...Nearly There's

Publish Date: 07/08/2012


Our Homo Heroes Awards 2012 saw lots of nominations across all seven categories, with the top three nominations in each category now open for you to vote. However so many individuals, groups and organisations were nominated again this year, here’s a list of all those that we should celebrate for being nominated in each category:

Community Champion:

Andy Thompson, Andy Kerr, Anton Hysén, Ben Cohen, Ben Summerskill, Cairn Newton, Chris Knight, Claire Baldwin, Darren Adams, Gaby Charing, Garry Otton, Gerard Gudgeon, Heather Walton, Iain Scott, Ian Stubbs, Jackie Crozier, Jen Yockney, Laura Hamilton, Mattie Stephens, Michael O’doherty, Michael Pollard, Nick Curtis, Nicola Worswick, Paul Fairweather, Paul Harfleet, Peter Tatchell, Robert Mee, Ryan Houston, Sarah McNally, Shaun Dellenty, Sky Yarlett, Steph Kay, Stephen Bourne, Susan Kirkham, Tom Simpson, Tommy McIlravey, Trevor Burchick, Victoria Cowley, Wayne Dhesi


Accenture, Barclays, Eagle Bar Manchester, Easyjet, Poptastic, Legends, Michaeljohn Training School, O'Neill Patient Solicitors, Pink Punters, Rainbow Operations, Richmond Tea Rooms, Taurus, The Cliff Pub, Three Crowns, Urban Village Medical Practice, Vanilla

Role Model

Adam Kay, Alan Turing, Alex Wetton, Andrew Stokes, Anton Hysén, Ben Cohen, Bryan Leffew, Charile Condou, Claire Mooney, Daniel Burford, Darren Knight, David Thompson, Gareth Jones, Gareth Thomas, George Meudell, Heather Peace, Iain Scott, Jeremy Joseph, Jess Wood, Jim Vann, Joan Burnett, Joe Patterson, Lady Gaga, Les Patient, Marcus Morgan, Mattie Stephen, Meg Barker, Miss Thunderpussy (Scott Houston), Pam - Head of security @ Queer, Paul Burgess, Paul McAvoy (The Gay Village Online), Peter Tatchell, Robert Mee, Shaun Dellenty, Steph Kay, Valentino King, Zachary Quinto.

Public Sector Partner

Gay lesbian association of Doctors and Dentists (GLADD), Greater Manchester Police, Liverpool Community Health NHS Trust, Manchester Public Health Development Service, Manchester Royal Infirmary, Proud of Gayness – Bury, Salix Homes, Unison.


Alan T Gardner, Ben Squance, Dan Stock, Daniel Brady, George Meudell, Jim Vann, Joe Paterson, Lee Wicks, Les Patient, Mattie Stephen, Peter Tatchell, Sarah Morris, Stephen Bourne, Tom Simpson, Tracie Coppull, Trevor Burchick.

Group or organisation

17-24-30, Albert Kennedy Trust, BiCON, Biphoria, Brighton Gay Mens Chorus, Gaydio, George House Trust, Transforum, Lancashire LGBT Centre, The Lesbian & Gay Foundation, LGBT Youth Manchester, LGBT Youth Scotland, Manchester Concord, Manchester Front Runners, Manchester Prairie Dogs Line Dancing Group, Manchester Pride, New Family Social, Northern Wave Swimming Club, Out-Spoken Magazine, Pink Triangle Theatre, Planet London, POG LGBT Youth Group, rucommingout.com, Sing Out Bristol, SM Dykes Manchester, Southwark LGBT Network, Sparkle - the national transgender celebration,

Stonewall, The L Project, Wilde ones events, Youth Discovery Ventures.


Alter Ego, Armistead, Churchills, G-A-Y, Legends, The Lesbian & Gay Foundation, Luke & Jacks Adult Emporium & The Virginia Gallery, Madrigras Blackpool, Manchester Aquatics Centre, Molly House, New Union, New York New York, Rumes Nightclub Preston, Taurus, The Lisbon, Three Crowns in Bangor, The Yard in Soho, Vanilla, Viaduct Showbar in Leeds, Villagios, Polari.

To vote for the top 3 nominees in each category click here.