Useful links for lesbian & bisexual women

Want to meet other women, or get some local support? Below are some useful links to organisations, venues and events that may be of use to lesbian and bisexual women in Greater Manchester. If you know of a link that should appear here, email women@lgbt.foundation to let us know.

Groups marked * are women-only or have women-only activities. Our services for women are open to anyone who self-identifies as a woman some or all of the time and is lesbian, bisexual or questioning their sexual orientation. This includes non-binary or gender-fluid people who want to access a women's space. We do not knowingly list groups or organisations who discriminate against trans people. 

Support for women

LGBT Foundation* Call our Helpline on 0345 3 30 30 30, email women@lgbt.foundation or visit us at 5 Richmond Street, Manchester M1 3HF.

Albert Kennedy Trust (supports young LGBT people who are homeless or at risk) www.akt.org.uk

Breast Cancer Care (for anyone affected by breast cancer) www.breastcancercare.org.uk

End The Fear (Domestic abuse support across Greater Manchester) www.endthefear.co.uk

Imaan (support group for LGBT Muslims, meets at LGBT Foundation) imaan.org.uk

Keshet Manchester (group for LGBT Jewish people) www.facebook.com/groups/259758817445493

Lesbian Immigration Support Group* (for lesbian & bisexual women asylum seekers) lesbianimmigrationsupportgroup.blogspot.co.uk

Manchester Rape Crisis* (for survivors of rape or sexual assault) www.manchesterrapecrisis.co.uk

Manchester Women’s Aid* (for women and children affected by domestic and sexual violence) www.manchesterwomensaid.org

Metropolitan Church (LGBT-affirming church in South Manchester) metropolitanchurch.org.uk

Stepping Stones* (LGBT Foundation's support group for lesbian, bisexual & questioning women) lgbt.foundation/stepping-stones

The Labrys Trust* (support for older lesbian and bisexual women in Calderdale) www.thelabrystrust.com

Transforum Manchester (transgender support group & discussion forum) www.transforum-manchester.co.uk

Survivors for Survivors* (Female survivors of sexual and domestic violence) cschilizzi@gmail.com

Websites of interest to lesbian & bisexual women

After Ellen (lesbian/bi pop culture) www.afterellen.com

Autostraddle (news, entertainment, opinion, community and girl-on-girl culture) www.autostraddle.com

Bi Community News (Britain's bimonthly bisexual magazine) www.bicommunitynews.co.uk

Bi Media (bisexual news and opinion) www.bimedia.org

Biscuit Magazine (online magazine for today’s discerning bisexual woman) www.thisisbiscuit.co.uk

DIVA Magazine (the only monthly glossy newsstand magazine for lesbians and bi women in the UK) www.divamag.co.uk

g3 magazine (for the not-so-straight woman) www.g3mag.co.uk

Gaydar Girls (dating website) www.gaydargirls.com

Ginger Beer (events listings and discussion for lesbian & bi women) www.gingerbeer.co.uk

L Fest (annual festival of lesbian life) www.lfest.co.uk

The Pink Sofa (lesbian dating website) www.thepinksofa.co.uk

Venues, social and sports groups

Beaver Club Night (monthly female-focused club night for LGBT women and their feminist friends) www.dulcetsounds.co.uk/live/beaver

Biphoria (social group for bisexual people) www.biphoria.org.uk

Bisexual & Lesbian Women in Manchester Meetup group* www.meetup.com/Lesbian-bisexual-women-Manchester/

Bloomers* (LGBT Foundation's social group for older lesbian & bisexual women) lgbt.foundation/bloomers

Bolton Women's Social Group (group meeting monthly at the Star & Garter in Bolton) www.facebook.com/groups/209210382457666

Carousel* (LGBT Foundation's social group for bisexual, lesbian & questioning women) lgbt.foundation//carousel

Film Group at HOME* (LB women's social group who go to watch films at HOME) email: filmgroupathome@gmail.com

Coyotes Bar Manchester (bar in Manchester’s gay village, popular with LB women) www.coyotesbar.co.uk

Gay Women in Cheshire* (social group for LB women in & around Cheshire) www.meetup.com/Gay-Women-in-Cheshire

Manchester Frontrunners* (LGB running group with monthly women-only session) www.manchesterfrontrunners.org

Manchester Lesbian & Gay Chorus (LGBT choir) mlgc.org.uk

Manchester Prarie Dogs (LGBT line-dancing club) www.manchesterprairiedogs.co.uk

Manchester Sharks (LGBT waterpolo club with occasional women’s sessions) www.manchestersharks.co.uk

Manchester Stingers* (women’s football team) www.manchesterstingers.co.uk

Manchester Walking Women* (LB women’s walking group) uk.groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/manchester-ww

New Family Social (social group for LGBT adoptive or foster parents) www.newfamilysocial.co.uk

Northern Aces (LGBT tennis club with occasional women’s sessions) www.northernacestennis.com

Northern Wave* (LGBT swimming club with weekly women-only sessions) www.northernwave.org

Out IN Salford (network for LGBT people in Salford, with occasional social events) www.facebook.com/groups/213001068715668

Out In The City (social group for older LGBT people) outinthecity05.webs.com

Peak Rufties* (lesbian hiking group) peakrufties.webs.com

People Like Us Stockport (PLUS) (LGBT social group in Stockport) http://www.stockportplus.org/

Proud 2 B Parents (social & support group for LGBT parents and their children)www.proud2bparents.co.uk

Rochdale LGBT Social Group rochdalelgbt.org

Slam Dunkin’ Divas* (LBT women’s basketball club) www.slamdunkindivas.co.uk

SM Dykes* (group for women into BDSM) www.smdykes.org.uk

Stepping Stones* (LGBT Foundation's support group for lesbian, bisexual & questioning women) lgbt.foundation/stepping-stones

The Hideaway* (cafe in Urmston with weekly LBT women's night on a Saturday and monthly LBT women's book club) thehideawayurmston.co.uk

The Nip & Tipple (bar in South Manchester, popular with LB women) www.nipandtipple.com

Todmorden Women's Disco* (long established women's disco held 2nd Sat of the month) www.facebook.com/TodmordenLadiesDisco

Vanilla* (women's bar in the Gay Village) www.vanillagirls.co.uk/

Village Bakers (LGBT social group for folks who like to bake) www.facebook.com/VillageBakers

WOW (Women Out at Work) Network (network for professional LGBT women) www.facebook.com/groups/681007205286854

Women's Reading Group at LGBT Foundation* (reading group for LBT women)lgbt.foundation/womensreadinggroup

Young Women's Project (group run by LGBT Youth North West for LB women aged 14-25) www.likt.org.uk

 

Click here to return to the women's section of our website